FoldingText Status Update

Continuing the discussion from Is FT still under active development?:

• I’m sorry I haven’t been more active in these forums lately. Here’s a review and status update of what I’m working on now.

• The road to FoldingText 2.0

• My basic idea for FoldingText has always seemed pretty simple: take the plain text outlining idea from TaskPaper and extend to more then just todo lists.

• My goal was to build an extensible plain text outliner. A place to “think in text”. A place that removed all UI complexities allowing you to work directly with your ideas in text.

• I’ve been working towards this goal since 2009. Full time work started on early 2011. FoldingText 1.0 came out in Oct 2012 but had a buggy editor. FoldingText 2.0 solved that in Jun 2014.

• FoldingText 2.0

• After the 2.0 release I started to add support for due dates. The constrain that everything is in plain text and visible to the end user made this more difficult then I’d imagined.

• In that context I began to realize how complex all of FoldingText really was. I’d got rid of traditional UI complexity, only to replace it with Markdown text formatting complexity.

• FoldingText 2.0 is a nice Markdown editor with some unique features. But it’s not really what I set out to build. The Markdown aspect adds lots of complexity that obscures my original goals.

• UI Complexity

• Unless you know Markdown FoldingText doesn’t make much sense. Even if you do know Markdown it’s not designed to visually represent hierarchies.

• The underlying outline model is hard to see and manipulate. Indent a heading and only a single extra “#” is added. Indent a list item and the text moves to the right. There’s no consistency to the visualization of the outline model.

• My kids are school aged and will soon need a place to “think in text”. But they are not ready and have no need to learn the intricacies of Markdown. Same with most people I know.

• API Complexity